Continuous Flow Cold Therapy Machine Intermittent

Short answer

What is the difference between continuous flow and intermittent cold therapy?

Continuous flow runs the pump the whole session, while intermittent cycling pauses it on a schedule, for example 15 minutes on and 10 minutes off on the ICENURT. The water starts at the same cold in both cases; the difference is how much of each hour the pump is moving water.

Side by side

It is late in the evening, the outlet by the couch is free, and you have frozen bottles ready in the freezer. The question behind continuous flow cold therapy machine vs intermittent is simpler than it sounds: should the pump run without stopping, or should it cycle on and off on a timer? Continuous flow keeps cold water moving through the pad the whole time the ice lasts. Intermittent mode pauses the pump between bursts, so the pad cools in waves. If you want steady cold while you are awake and nearby, continuous flow does the job. If you plan to rest or doze through a session, the timer models here are the calmer choice.

This guide compares the two approaches through four ice machines whose listings describe timers, cycle modes or continuous run. Every figure below comes from the makers’ own listings, which we collected 19 October 2026.

This article is informational and is not medical advice. Cold therapy can cause cold shock and numbness, and long or repeated exposure can damage tissue. Do not fall asleep against a pad without a timer or automatic shutoff, and ask a clinician first if you have a heart condition, circulation problems, diabetes or nerve damage. See our Medical Disclaimer.

Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  1. 1
    Cold Therapy Ice Machine for Lower Back/Stomach Chill Score 9.6/10

    A 16 quart ice machine for back, waist and abdomen with a 4-setting timer, a water temperature monitor and a stated 1 year warranty.

    Check price on Amazon
  2. 2
    Programmable Timer Ice Machine for Hip & Back Chill Score 9.5/10

    A 9 quart hip and back ice machine with a programmable on/off timer and up to 14 hours of stated continuous run time.

    Check price on Amazon
  3. 3
    ICYTHRP Programmable Timer Cold Therapy Machine Chill Score 9.5/10

    A 12 quart hip ice machine with a collapsible bucket, a programmable timer and 12 hours of stated continuous run time.

    Check price on Amazon
  4. 4
    NEWGO Ice Machine for Knee After Surgery Chill Score 9.4/10

    A knee-focused ice machine with Non-Stop, Auto Timer and Loop modes and up to 12 hours of stated continuous cooling.

    Check price on Amazon

Cold Therapy Ice Machine for Lower Back/Stomach After Surgery Pain Relief Cryotherapy with Timer Control Temp Monitor, 2 Straps, Quiet Pump, Pressure Regulator Continuous Use for Injuries Recovery

Cold Therapy Ice Machine for Lower Back/Stomach

AOKESTE 9.6/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A 16 quart ice machine for back, waist and abdomen with a 4-setting timer, a water temperature monitor and a stated 1 year warranty.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • 16Qt tank with 12 or more hours stated run time
  • Timer settings of 15, 30, 45 minutes or continuous run
  • 3 flow intensities plus an adjustable pressure valve
  • Integrated thermometer shows water temperature

Cons

  • Pad shaped for back, waist and abdomen; no knee or hip option stated
  • Only package dimensions stated, not the unit's own footprint
  • No safety certification stated
  • Package weight 4.54 pounds; no unit-only weight stated
Programmable Timer Ice Machine for Hip & Back After Surgery Cold Therapy Machine with Quiet Pump, 14H Cryotherapy Pain Relief w/ Hip Pad – for After Surgery & Sports Pain & Swelling

Programmable Timer Ice Machine for Hip & Back

ICENURT 9.5/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A 9 quart hip and back ice machine with a programmable on/off timer and up to 14 hours of stated continuous run time.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • Up to 14 hours stated run time, longest here
  • Programmable on/off cycles, e.g. 15 min on, 10 min off
  • Double-walled insulated tank, 9 quart
  • Fits 4 to 6 frozen bottles under 8.5 inches tall

Cons

  • Smallest tank here at 9 quarts
  • 7.78 pounds, the highest weight stated among the four
  • No warranty term stated
  • Pad covers hip and back only; no knee shaping
ICYTHRP Programmable Timer Cold Therapy Machine for Hip w/Quiet Pump FSA Eligible HSA, Portable Ice Machine for Hip After Surgery, Replacement Recovery & Cryotherapy Pain Relief w/ Hip Pad

ICYTHRP Programmable Timer Cold Therapy Machine

ICYTHRP 9.5/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A 12 quart hip ice machine with a collapsible bucket, a programmable timer and 12 hours of stated continuous run time.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • 12 quart collapsible 3-tier insulated bucket
  • 12 hours stated continuous run time
  • Holds up to 6 frozen water bottles
  • Lowest stated weight here at 4 pounds

Cons

  • Noise bullet is oddly worded: motors are 15 dB louder, with no reference given
  • Hip pad only; no back or knee shaping stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • No folded size stated for the collapsible bucket
NEWGO Ice Machine for Knee After Surgery, Portable Cold Therapy Machine Lightweight Programmable Recovery System with Quiet Pump for ACL, Post-Op Swelling, Joint Pain

NEWGO Ice Machine for Knee After Surgery

NEWGO 9.4/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A knee-focused ice machine with Non-Stop, Auto Timer and Loop modes and up to 12 hours of stated continuous cooling.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • Three named modes: Non-Stop, Auto Timer, Loop
  • Adjustable time settings and flow rates
  • 4.1 pound package weight with a long adjustable strap
  • Knee, hip and shoulder target use stated

Cons

  • No tank capacity stated
  • No noise figure stated
  • Only package dimensions given, not the unit's
  • No warranty term stated

More to compare

Continuous flow cold therapy machine vs intermittent: what the listings mean

A continuous flow machine is the simple kind: the pump circulates ice water from the tank through the pad for as long as the timer allows or the ice holds out. All four listings here describe some version of this, with stated run times of 12 to 14 hours on one fill.

Intermittent operation is the same hardware on a different schedule. The ICENURT listing gives the clearest example, a programmable timer that can run 15 minutes on and 10 minutes off for as long as needed. The AOKESTE listing offers four timer settings, 15, 30 and 45 minutes or continuous run. The NEWGO listing names three modes outright: Non-Stop, Auto Timer and Loop. In other words, intermittent here means the pump rests on a schedule rather than running flat out.

Neither style changes how cold the water is at the start; that depends on the ice you put in. The difference is duty cycle, how much of each hour the pump is actually moving water, and whether you have to remember to switch the machine off.

Stated run modes and run times, side by side

Machine Tank (stated) Stated run time Run modes (stated) Noise (stated)
AOKESTE Back Cold Kit 16Qt (15.14 L in the spec table) 12+ hours 15, 30, 45 min or continuous; 3 flow speeds Under 15 dB
ICENURT Hip and Back 9 qt Up to 14 hours Programmable on/off cycles At or under 15 dB
ICYTHRP Hip Timer Unit 12 qt 12 hours Programmable on/off cycles 15 dB (bullets)
NEWGO Knee Loop Unit Not stated Up to 12 hours Non-Stop, Auto Timer, Loop Not stated

A few things stand out from the stated figures. The ICENURT lists the longest stated run time, up to 14 hours, from the smallest tank, 9 quarts, a pairing worth noting when you compare tank size against run time. The AOKESTE lists the largest tank, 16 quarts, with 12 or more hours per fill. The NEWGO listing gives no tank size at all, so its 12 hour figure cannot be checked against a volume.

What continuous flow gets you

Continuous flow is the set-and-fill option for a waking session: fill the tank, fit the pad, and the cold stays on until the timer ends or the ice melts. All four listings describe use through the night or the day in this mode, and three state noise at or under 15 dB, which the makers present as quiet enough for sleep. The AOKESTE pairs its separate pump and tank with an L shaped leak proof connector, and the ICENURT spec table also lists leak proof as a feature.

The trade off is attention. With no timer, a continuous machine keeps running until you stop it or the ice gives out. The ICYTHRP listing frames its programmable timer as the answer to falling asleep with the unit on, which is the honest version of the risk: cold applied too long to skin is the thing to watch, not the pump.

What intermittent cycling gets you

Intermittent cycling exists for one reason: to put the on-off decision on a schedule instead of on you. The ICENURT listing is explicit, custom on and off cycles for as long as needed, with a worked example of 15 minutes on and 10 minutes off. The NEWGO Loop mode reads as the same idea under a different name, though the listing gives no cycle lengths. The AOKESTE lists four timer settings, three flow intensities and a water temperature monitor.

Cycling does not make the water colder, and none of the listings state that a cycled session uses less ice per hour, so do not buy on that assumption. What you do get is scheduled pauses instead of one unbroken run, provided you set the timer before you start.

Four machines that run both styles

These are scored on the Chill Score, which weighs performance 30, build 20, value 20, safety certifications 15 and warranty 15. All four state a programmable or automatic timer, which the makers frame as a safety feature, so each carries a small safety score. Only the AOKESTE states a warranty term.

Product Chill Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
AOKESTE Back Cold Kit 9.6 30 21 21 3 3
ICENURT Hip and Back 9.5 28 20 21 3 0
ICYTHRP Hip Timer Unit 9.5 27 20 21 3 0
NEWGO Knee Loop Unit 9.4 24 19 20 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

For more choices, see our best cold therapy machines roundup and the cold therapy machine vs ice pack comparison.

Practical notes before you choose

  • Set the timer before you sit down. Every model here offers some form of timed operation, and the safety framing in the listings assumes you actually use it.
  • Match the pad to the body part. The listings target hips, backs, knees, waists and abdomens. Pads are shaped differently, and the straps are not one size.
  • Check bottle height. The ICENURT fits frozen bottles under 8.5 inches tall. The ICYTHRP holds 6 frozen water bottles in its 12 quart bucket.
  • Read the noise figure as the maker’s. Three listings state 15 dB or under. The NEWGO listing gives no figure at all.
  • One listing states a warranty. The AOKESTE lists a full 1 year warranty. The other three state no warranty term.

Common questions

What is the difference between continuous flow and intermittent cold therapy?

Continuous flow runs the pump the whole session, while intermittent cycling pauses it on a schedule, for example 15 minutes on and 10 minutes off on the ICENURT. The water starts at the same cold in both cases; the difference is how much of each hour the pump is moving water.

Can I sleep through a session with one of these machines?

All four listings describe timed operation meant for exactly that, but you should set the timer first and keep the pad off bare skin for long stretches. Cold applied too long can damage tissue, so follow your clinician’s guidance over anything a listing says.

Does intermittent mode make the ice last longer?

None of the four listings states ice use per hour for either mode, so there is no stated basis for that claim. The only stated figures are tank sizes and run times: 9 to 16 quarts, and 12 to 14 hours per fill.

How loud are these machines?

Three of the four state a figure at or under 15 dB, which the makers present as quiet enough for sleep. The NEWGO listing gives no noise figure beyond calling the pump quiet. One bullet on the ICYTHRP reads oddly, saying the motors are 15 dB louder without naming a reference, so we take 15 dB as the maker’s figure there.

Which of these machines has a stated warranty?

Only the AOKESTE, which lists a full 1 year warranty. The ICENURT, ICYTHRP and NEWGO listings state no warranty term, so their warranty scores are zero.

Sources: Amazon product listings for the machines named above, collected 19 October 2026. Related: our best cold therapy machines and cold therapy machine vs ice pack.

Back to all recovery tools reviews.