Short answer
Which heats faster, infrared or steam?
The Enhulk listing states steam in 10 to 15 minutes, while neither infrared listing states a heat-up time. The listings therefore do not settle which side heats faster. Compare temperature ranges and timers instead of heat-up claims.
Side by side Choose an indoor sauna if Choose a portable sauna if
If a spare corner and a regular routine are yours, an indoor sauna fits: a cabin you leave set up and step into. If you rent or need the room back after each session, a portable sauna fits: a tent that folds away. The indoor sauna vs portable sauna choice comes down to space, heat type and setup.
This comparison covers heat type, capacity, temperature control, setup, space and safety, with three listings as examples: two indoor infrared cabins and one portable steam tent. Listings were collected 3 November 2026.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Saunas raise body temperature and cause sweating, so overheating and dehydration are risks, and alcohol before a session adds risk. Ask a clinician first if you are pregnant or have a heart condition, and check for a UL or ETL listing before buying. See our Medical Disclaimer.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
X-Vcak 2 Person Infrared Sauna Chill Score 9.6/10Check price on AmazonA 2-person infrared sauna with 8 heating panels, a 7-color light and Bluetooth for a shared home setup.
-
2
SunSwell Wood Infrared Sauna,1 Person Traditonal Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA 1-person Canadian hemlock infrared sauna with a reading light and Bluetooth speaker for small indoor spaces.
-
3
Portable Steam Sauna for Home Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA foldable 1-person steam sauna tent with a 3L steamer, remote control and an XL chair for small homes.
A 2-person infrared sauna with 8 heating panels, a 7-color light and Bluetooth for a shared home setup.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 8 heating panels at 1800W, per the listing
- Temperature range of 66 to 150 degrees Fahrenheit with a 1 to 99 minute timer
- Bookshelf, towel rack and cup holder included
- Three-prong plug with leakage protection and filmed tempered glass door
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- Size field lists 2-3 Person while the title says 2 Person
- 47 by 42 by 73 inches needs a large dedicated spot
- No assembly time stated in the listing
A 1-person Canadian hemlock infrared sauna with a reading light and Bluetooth speaker for small indoor spaces.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Canadian hemlock body, per the listing
- Temperature control from 64 to 149 degrees Fahrenheit
- Tool-free assembly in 30 minutes to 1 hour, per the listing
- One-year warranty stated
Cons
- 1-person size, so no room for a second bather
- No wattage stated in the listing
- Interior of 32.67 by 27.55 by 59.44 inches leaves little spare room
- Bluetooth speaker only, with no radio listed
A foldable 1-person steam sauna tent with a 3L steamer, remote control and an XL chair for small homes.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 3L steamer at 1200W with 9 heat levels, per the listing
- 99-minute timer with remote control
- Folds down for compact storage, per the listing
- 5-layer waterproof fabric with a tight-seal zipper
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No safety certification or leakage protection stated
- Steam only, with no infrared panels
- 43.3 by 43.3 by 71 inches is large when set up, despite folding for storage
More to compare
FniOk Portable Steam Sauna at HomeCheck price on Amazon
X-Vcak 1-2 Person Infrared SaunaCheck price on Amazon
Rboico Portable Home SaunaCheck price on Amazon
MUTAMA Personal Portable Steam Sauna for HomeCheck price on Amazon
SWHSE 3-4 Person Infrared SaunaCheck price on Amazon
EASYHAWK 2 Person Infrared Sauna for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Indoor sauna vs portable sauna at a glance
| X-Vcak 2-person | SunSwell 1-person | Enhulk portable | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heat type | Infrared panels | Infrared panels | Steam from a 3L tank |
| Capacity | 2 persons | 1 person | 1 person |
| Max temperature | 150 F | 149 F | Not stated |
| Timer | 1 to 99 minutes | 1 to 99 minutes | Up to 99 minutes |
| Power | 1800W | Not stated | 1200W |
| Setup | Not stated | Tool-free, 30 minutes to 1 hour | Simple assembly, folds away |
| Warranty | Not stated | One-year | Not stated |
Heat, space and power
The two indoor cabins heat with infrared panels, while the portable tent makes steam from a 3L tank at 1200W. The X-Vcak cabin runs 8 panels at 1800W with a range of 66 to 150 F, and the SunSwell cabin runs 4 panels with a range of 64 to 149 F. The Enhulk tent states no maximum temperature, only 9 heat levels, so the listings do not settle which side runs hotter.
Space decides more than heat. The X-Vcak cabin measures 47 by 42 by 73 inches and stays set up, while the SunSwell interior measures 32.67 by 27.55 by 59.44 inches for small rooms. The Enhulk tent measures 43.3 by 43.3 by 71 inches when set up, then folds down for compact storage, and it weighs 16.0 pounds. Power is simpler: the X-Vcak listing describes a three-prong plug with leakage protection, the Enhulk listing describes a 1200W steamer, and the SunSwell listing states no wattage, so check the listing before buying. For more portable options, see our portable sauna box list, and our portable sauna box versus sauna tent comparison covers the two portable shapes.
Gear for each route
These are scored on the Chill Score, which weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. See our how we review guide for the weights.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| X-Vcak 2-Person Sauna | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| SunSwell Sauna | 9.5 | 27 | 22 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
| Enhulk Steam Sauna | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Choose an indoor sauna if
- You have a permanent corner for a cabin that stays set up.
- You want infrared panels and a fixed cabin.
- You bathe with a partner and want room for two.
- You want a stated warranty term, as the SunSwell listing gives one year.
Choose a portable sauna if
- You rent or move often and need a tent that folds away.
- You want steam heat rather than infrared panels.
- You have a small room and need storage after each session.
- You want remote control and adjustable heat levels from your seat.
Check Your Space First
- Measure the spot: the X-Vcak cabin is 47 by 42 by 73 inches, and the Enhulk tent is 43.3 by 43.3 by 71 inches when set up.
- Check the floor: the cabins are not made to fold away, while the Enhulk tent folds away and weighs 16.0 pounds.
- Check power: the X-Vcak listing describes a three-prong plug with leakage protection, and the SunSwell listing states no wattage.
- Check water: the Enhulk tent needs its 3L tank filled, while neither infrared listing mentions a water tank.
- Check storage: the Enhulk tent folds for compact storage, while the cabins are not made to fold away.
Common questions
Which heats faster, infrared or steam?
The Enhulk listing states steam in 10 to 15 minutes, while neither infrared listing states a heat-up time. The listings therefore do not settle which side heats faster. Compare temperature ranges and timers instead of heat-up claims.
Can a portable sauna stay set up?
Yes. The Enhulk listing states it fits bedrooms, living rooms, bathrooms and workout spaces, and it folds down for compact storage after use. Assembly is described as simple, with a foldable chair included.
Do indoor saunas need special wiring?
The X-Vcak listing describes a three-prong plug with leakage protection, and neither indoor listing states a voltage or circuit requirement. Check the listing and your outlet before buying.
What size room do I need?
The X-Vcak cabin measures 47 by 42 by 73 inches, the SunSwell interior measures 32.67 by 27.55 by 59.44 inches, and the Enhulk tent measures 43.3 by 43.3 by 71 inches. Measure the spot before ordering, including room to step in and out.
Which listing includes a warranty?
Only the SunSwell listing states a warranty term: one year. The other two listings state no warranty term.
Back to all sauna reviews.



