Short answer
What does soft vs firm mean on a foam roller?
It is the firmness label the listing states. The MELT states Soft; the Yes4All states medium firmness. The labels are not a shared scale, so compare the two listings side by side instead of treating them as universal grades.
Side by side Choose the soft side if Choose the firm side if
Soft vs firm foam roller: the question comes up at the end of a long week, when you want a short routine at home. Picture a quiet corner of your living room, a mat on the floor, and a few spare minutes before bed. This comparison lays out each side through its listing, the soft MELT travel roller and the medium-firm Yes4All, so you can match density to your routine.
This comparison covers density, length, weight and warranty, with a roller for each side. Listings were collected 23 October 2026.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Keep foam rollers away from the neck, spine and arteries, skip them on acute injuries, and ask a clinician before using one for a diagnosed condition. Stop at once if you feel pain, dizziness or numbness.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
Yes4All Medium Firm Round PE Foam Roller 12, 18 Chill Score 9.6/10Check price on AmazonA medium-firm PE foam roller in 12, 18, 24 or 36 inches with a stated 250-pound capacity and a 1 year warranty.
-
2
Melt 18-Inch Travel Soft Foam Roller Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA soft 18-inch foam roller with a textured surface, latex-free foam and free video guides, at 1.1 pounds.
A medium-firm PE foam roller in 12, 18, 24 or 36 inches with a stated 250-pound capacity and a 1 year warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 12, 18, 24 and 36 inch lengths, per the listing
- Stated 250 LB weight capacity
- Smooth and non-slip PE, stated
- 1 year warranty stated, the only one here
Cons
- Stated dimensions cover the 36 inch size only
- 30% heavier claim names no standard for comparison
- No safety certification stated
- Weight of 14.4 ounces is stated for one size only
A soft 18-inch foam roller with a textured surface, latex-free foam and free video guides, at 1.1 pounds.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Soft firmness stated, the gentle side here
- 18 inches and 1.1 pounds for travel
- Textured surface and latex-free foam, stated
- Free MELT video guides included
Cons
- Weight figures differ: 1.1 lbs in one place, 12.8 ounces in another
- Open-cell in one place, closed-cell in another
- No warranty term stated
- No weight capacity stated
More to compare
Amazon Basics High Density Foam Roller for Exercise andCheck price on Amazon
ProsourceFit Flex Foam Rollers for Muscle MassageCheck price on Amazon
Rollga LITECheck price on Amazon
OPTP PRO-ROLLER Standard Density Foam RollerCheck price on Amazon
11.8 Inch Medium Density Foam Massage RollerCheck price on Amazon
MELT 36-Inch Half Foam Roller Spinal Support Balance TrainingCheck price on Amazon
Soft vs Firm Foam Roller at a Glance
The verdict: pick the soft MELT for gentle compression and travel, pick the firm Yes4All for a denser roller with a stated weight capacity and more length choices.
| Soft (MELT) | Firm (Yes4All) | |
|---|---|---|
| Stated firmness | Soft | Medium firm |
| Lengths | 18 inches | 12, 18, 24, 36 inches |
| Weight | 1.1 lb | 14.4 oz (36 in size) |
| Diameter | 5 inches | 6 inches |
| Weight capacity | Not stated | Up to 250 LB |
| Warranty | Not stated | 1 year |
| Extras | Free video guides | Not stated |
Density: what the listings state
The MELT listing states a Soft firmness with a proprietary FasciaTherapy density, described as gentle, restorative compression. The Yes4All listing states medium firmness, with PE that is 30% heavier than standard foam rollers, per the listing.
Neither listing states a shared density scale, so density alone does not put one side ahead. The soft side is for readers who want gentle compression; the firm side is for readers who want a denser roller. That is the whole difference between the two.
Length, weight and size
The MELT comes in one length, 18 inches, with a 5 inch diameter, stated at 1.1 pounds. The Yes4All comes in 12, 18, 24 and 36 inch lengths with a 6 inch diameter; it lists 14.4 ounces and 36 by 6 by 6 inches for the 36 inch size.
The Yes4All is the only one of the two with a stated weight capacity: up to 250 pounds. The MELT states no capacity figure.
Two foam rollers, ranked
The two rollers are ranked below. The Yes4All has a stated warranty and a stated weight capacity, and the MELT has a travel size and guides.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yes4All Medium Firm | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 2 |
| MELT 18-Inch Soft | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Choose the soft side if
- You want gentle compression, per the MELT listing.
- You travel and want an 18-inch roller that fits a gym bag or office drawer.
- You want the free MELT video guides.
Choose the firm side if
- You want a denser, medium-firm roller.
- You want a stated weight capacity of up to 250 pounds.
- You want to pick from 12, 18, 24 or 36 inch lengths.
- You do Pilates, yoga, stretching, balance or core work.
Check Your Space First
- Measure the floor space: the MELT is 18 by 5 by 5 inches; the 36 inch Yes4All is 36 by 6 by 6 inches.
- Check your weight against the Yes4All 250-pound capacity figure.
- Confirm the Yes4All length you order: the stated dimensions cover the 36 inch size.
- Pick a spot with room to lie full length on the roller.
Common questions
What does soft vs firm mean on a foam roller?
It is the firmness label the listing states. The MELT states Soft; the Yes4All states medium firmness. The labels are not a shared scale, so compare the two listings side by side instead of treating them as universal grades.
What foam roller length works for home use?
The MELT comes in 18 inches only; the Yes4All comes in 12, 18, 24 and 36 inches. Longer rollers cover more of the back in one pass, while shorter ones travel better. Pick the length that matches where you will use it.
How much weight can a foam roller hold?
Only the Yes4All states a figure: up to 250 pounds. The MELT states no weight capacity, so the listing leaves it unclear. Check the capacity figure on the listing before you buy if it matters to you.
Do I need the MELT video guides?
The MELT purchase includes free access to MELT video guides, per the listing. They are optional: the roller works as a roller either way. If guided routines help you stay consistent, they are a real extra.
Related: high density vs low density foam roller and best foam roller for Pilates.
Back to all foam roller reviews.



