After knee surgery or a hard training block, a cold therapy machine keeps cold water moving over the sore spot while you rest on the couch. We read the listings for the best cold therapy machines under 150 and scored five of them on stated tank size, cold time, pad fit and warranty.
This roundup scores five cold therapy machines listed under $150 on Amazon on what each listing states. Listings were collected 22 October 2026; prices change.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Cold therapy strains the heart and can injure skin if a pad sits on bare skin too long. Speak to a doctor first if you have a heart condition, circulation problems, or are pregnant. See our Medical Disclaimer.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
Ice Machine for Knee After Surgery Chill Score 9.7/10Check price on AmazonAn 18 quart machine with a 4-layer insulated tank that keeps water below 10°C (50°F) for up to 18 hours, with a 12-month manufacturer warranty.
-
2
Cold Therapy Ice Machine for Foot After Surgery Chill Score 9.7/10Check price on AmazonA 16 quart foot machine with a 360° foot pad fitting up to US men's size 13, a pressure valve and a thermometer, with a 1 year warranty.
-
3
ONLYCARE Cold Therapy Ice Machine 2.0 Chill Score 9.6/10Check price on AmazonAn 11 quart machine with a programmable timer, 4 flow speeds and a remote, with a 1-year replacement promise.
-
4
Cold Therapy Machine for Hip After Surgery Chill Score 9.6/10Check price on AmazonA hip-focused machine with a 3.96 gallon insulated bag, a pressure regulator and a temperature display, stated to hold cold 12 hours.
-
5
ICYTHRP Programmable Timer Ice Machine for Knee Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA 12 quart knee machine with a programmable timer, a collapsible insulated bucket and a quiet pump, FSA and HSA eligible.
What we picked for home recovery
An 18 quart machine with a 4-layer insulated tank that keeps water below 10°C (50°F) for up to 18 hours, with a 12-month manufacturer warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 18 quart tank, the largest here
- Up to 18 hours of cold, the longest stated
- 12-month manufacturer warranty stated
- 3 flow levels and 3 timer options plus continuous or intermittent modes
Cons
- Pad dimensions are not stated
- No water thermometer is stated
- Pump noise level is not stated
- No safety certification is stated
A 16 quart foot machine with a 360° foot pad fitting up to US men's size 13, a pressure valve and a thermometer, with a 1 year warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Foot-specific 360° pad, fits to US men's size 13
- 1 year warranty stated
- Pressure valve plus integrated thermometer
- 16 quart tank with 12+ hours stated
Cons
- Pad fits feet only, not knees or hips
- No safety certification is stated
- 3 flow intensities, fewer than the 4-speed pick
- Timer tops out at 45 minutes unless set to continuous
An 11 quart machine with a programmable timer, 4 flow speeds and a remote, with a 1-year replacement promise.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 4 flow speeds with a remote
- 1-year replacement stated
- 15 dB brushless pump stated
- 11 quart triple-insulated tank, 12 hours stated
Cons
- No safety certification is stated
- No pressure regulator is stated
- No temperature display is stated
- 16.4 ft hose needs room to route
A hip-focused machine with a 3.96 gallon insulated bag, a pressure regulator and a temperature display, stated to hold cold 12 hours.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Hip-specific pad with 2 straps
- Pressure regulator and temperature display
- 3.96 gallon bag holds 10 standard 16.9 oz bottles
- 15 dB pump stated, with 3 flow speeds
Cons
- No concrete warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- Fit is hip-specific, not for knees or feet
- Timer offers 15, 30 or 45 minutes, fewer steps than some
A 12 quart knee machine with a programmable timer, a collapsible insulated bucket and a quiet pump, FSA and HSA eligible.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Programmable on/off timer
- Collapsible 3-tier insulated bucket
- FSA and HSA eligible
- Pad listed for knees, shoulders, ankles, feet, hips and legs
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- 12 quart tank is mid-pack here
- Noise claim is worded oddly in the listing
The best cold therapy machines under 150, compared on stated specs
Every machine here works the same way: a small pump moves ice water from an insulated tank through a wrap-style pad. What differs is the tank size, how long the cold is stated to last, how the pad fits, and whether the maker states a warranty. Timer controls range from simple session presets to programmable on-off cycling.
Tank, cold time and warranty
| Machine | Tank | Stated cold time | Pad | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Betooray Cold Therapy | 18 qt | Up to 18 hours | Knee pad, size not stated | 12-month |
| Aokeste Foot Therapy | 16 qt | 12+ hours | Foot, to US men’s 13 | 1 year |
| Onlycare Cold Machine | 11 qt | 12 hours | 10.6 x 11.4 in | 1-year replacement |
| Cameco Hip Ice Machine | 3.96 gal | Up to 12 hours | Hip, 2 straps | Not stated |
| Icythrp Cold Machine | 12 qt | 12 hours | Knee pad, neoprene | Not stated |
We read five cold therapy machine listings. Three state a warranty term, two include a water thermometer, and two include a pressure regulator or valve. None states a safety certification.
Who should not buy these
If a clinic will run a machine all day, these home listings state no duty cycle, so a commercial unit may fit better. If the sore spot moves from joint to joint, a single-shape pad such as the foot wrap or the hip pad will not follow it. And if your routine needs the longest stated cold time, only one listing here claims more than 12 hours.
For more, see cold therapy machines for home use, cold therapy machine vs ice pack and knee ice machine cold therapy.
Score notes
The Chill Score weighs performance 30, build 20, value 20, safety certifications 15 and warranty 15. Here, performance covers stated tank size, cold time and control features. No listing states a safety certification, so safety is zero across this roundup.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Betooray Cold Therapy | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 4 |
| Aokeste Foot Therapy | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 3 |
| Onlycare Cold Machine | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | n/a | 3 |
| Cameco Hip Ice Machine | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| Icythrp Cold Machine | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Betooray leads on stated tank size and cold time, with a 12-month manufacturer warranty. Aokeste is the foot-first pick with a pressure valve and thermometer. Onlycare offers the most flow control, with 4 speeds and a remote.
Check Your Space First
- Footprints run from 10.6 by 10.6 inches to 15.35 by 11 inches: clear a flat spot beside the bed or couch before the first session.
- Listed weights run 3.53 to 4.67 pounds before water and ice are added.
- Plan your ice or frozen bottles ahead: listings call for up to 6 frozen bottles, up to 8 frozen bottles, or up to 10 standard 16.9-ounce bottles.
- Onlycare’s hose is 16.4 ft long, so route it where it stays out of the walking path.
- No listing states the plug type or voltage: check the listing if your outlet setup is unusual.
Common questions
How long does the cold last in one fill?
Stated cold times run 12 hours on three listings, 12+ hours on one, and up to 18 hours on one, depending on how much ice or how many frozen bottles you load. Makers describe rotating frozen bottles to extend a session. Check the listing’s figure against how long you plan to run it.
Do these machines need bagged ice?
Listings describe ice plus water, and several are built around frozen water bottles instead of loose ice: up to 6 bottles, up to 8 bottles, or up to 10 standard 16.9-ounce bottles depending on the model. Bottles mean fewer refills and less melt water to pour out.
How loud are they at night?
Four of the five listings state a pump figure of 15 dB or under, and makers describe them as suited to bedside use. Betooray is the one listing here that states no noise figure. Keep the unit on a stable surface so vibration does not add noise the listing does not promise.
Can one pad treat different body parts?
It depends on the pad. The knee pad listing also names shoulders, ankles, feet, hips and legs, while the foot wrap is foot-specific and the hip pad is hip-shaped. Match the pad shape to the sore spot rather than assuming one wrap fits all.
What does the timer do?
Timers set the session length. Common settings are 15, 30 or 45 minutes, or continuous run, with 3 or 4 flow levels on most models. Two listings add programmable on-off cycling, so the machine pauses and resumes on its own.
Do any of these state a warranty?
Three do. Betooray states a 12-month manufacturer warranty with 24/7 technical support, Aokeste states a 1 year warranty, and Onlycare promises a 1-year replacement with one-to-one help. The other two listings state no concrete warranty term.
Back to all recovery tools reviews.



