Most of these massagers need nothing more than a charged battery and a quiet chair, so the real difference is what each listing actually states about modes, nodes, waterproofing and runtime. This roundup scores the best electric head massager under 40 picks, five listings ranked on those stated facts rather than on marketing promises.
This roundup covers five head massagers listed under 40 on Amazon, compared on what each listing states. Listings were collected 19 October 2026; prices change.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Use these devices on the scalp as the maker directs, keep them away from the neck, spine and arteries, and stop if you feel pain. See our Medical Disclaimer.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
Melonsun Electric Scalp Massager, 2 Claw Sets Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA 3-mode kneading scalp massager with two interchangeable claw sets, IPX7 waterproofing and 2 to 3 hours of cordless use after a 2-hour USB-C charge.
-
2
AMIR Upgraded Electric Scalp Massager Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA 3-speed kneading massager with 96 silicone nodes, IPX6 waterproofing and a week of stated use per charge, with a 15-minute auto-off.
-
3
EILISON Cordless Head & Scalp Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA one-button, 3-mode head massager with kneading and rolling motion, clockwise and anti-clockwise rotation, and IPX-6 waterproofing.
-
4
Electric Scalp Massager with 3 Modes Chill Score 9.3/10Check price on AmazonA 3-mode vibrating scalp massager with 12 prongs and a 10-minute auto shut-off, charged by USB cable in about 2 hours.
-
5
Scalp Massager Electric Hair Growth Scrubber Chill Score 9.2/10Check price on AmazonA 2-mode vibrating scalp scrubber for wet and dry hair that runs on one AA battery, with ABS and TPE construction.
What we picked for home recovery
A 3-mode kneading scalp massager with two interchangeable claw sets, IPX7 waterproofing and 2 to 3 hours of cordless use after a 2-hour USB-C charge.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Two interchangeable claw sets for scalp and face
- IPX7 waterproof, listed for shower use
- 2 to 3 hours of cordless use per charge
- 15-minute auto-off
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Second claw set is for face and neck, not scalp
- Do not use while charging
- Charging-port cover must be closed before shower use
A 3-speed kneading massager with 96 silicone nodes, IPX6 waterproofing and a week of stated use per charge, with a 15-minute auto-off.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 96 silicone nodes across 4 heads
- IPX6 waterproof, wet and dry use
- Up to a week of use per charge, per the listing
- 15-minute auto-off saves energy
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Charge time not stated
- No usage detail is stated for the up-to-a-week battery claim
- Pet and pain-relief claims in the copy are marketing
A one-button, 3-mode head massager with kneading and rolling motion, clockwise and anti-clockwise rotation, and IPX-6 waterproofing.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- One-button control with 3 modes
- Kneading plus rolling motion
- Clockwise and anti-clockwise rotation
- IPX-6 waterproof with detachable heads
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Battery life not stated
- Spec table says corded electric, title says cordless
- Heat feature listed with no detail
A 3-mode vibrating scalp massager with 12 prongs and a 10-minute auto shut-off, charged by USB cable in about 2 hours.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 3 vibration modes
- 12 prongs for scalp coverage
- 10-minute auto shut-off
- Charges by USB cable in about 2 hours
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Only 10 minutes of use per charge
- Not water resistant
- Spec table says corded electric, features say cordless
A 2-mode vibrating scalp scrubber for wet and dry hair that runs on one AA battery, with ABS and TPE construction.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 2 vibration modes
- Wet and dry use
- Lightweight at 4.16 ounces
- Screwdriver and manual included; support contact offered
Cons
- No warranty stated
- Runs on one AA battery, not included
- Title says rechargeable, bullets say AA battery
- No node or prong count stated
More to compare
Electric Scalp MassagerCheck price on Amazon
COMFIER Scalp Massager for Hair GrowthCheck price on Amazon
arboleaf Electric Scalp Massager Head Massager Scalp StressCheck price on Amazon
Clinical Health ServicesCheck price on Amazon
Scalp MassagerCheck price on Amazon
Choosing the best electric head massager under 40 for your routine
Two things separate these five: the massage technique and the power setup. Queenwill and ONIYEA vibrate; Melonsun, AMIR and EILISON rotate 360-degree kneading heads, which the makers describe as a hand-like kneading feel. For power, Queenwill runs on one AA battery (not included) while the other four charge over USB, with stated runtimes from 10 minutes (ONIYEA) to up to a week (AMIR).
Waterproofing is the other split. Melonsun is IPX7 rated and AMIR is IPX6, both listed for wet and dry use, while ONIYEA’s listing says it is not water resistant. Read the listing contradictions in the reviews below: several titles claim cordless or rechargeable power that the spec tables muddle, so we scored from the title and bullets each time.
Modes, nodes and battery
| Pick | Modes | Massage nodes | Waterproofing | Stated runtime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Melonsun Head Massager | 3 | 100 deep-kneading nodes, plus 1,000+ cleansing tips | IPX7 | 2 to 3 hours per charge |
| AMIR Scalp Massager | 3 | 96 | IPX6 | Up to a week per charge |
| EILISON Head Massager | 3 | Not stated | IPX-6 | Not stated |
| ONIYEA Scalp Massager | 3 | 12 prongs | Not water resistant | 10 minutes per charge |
| Queenwill Massager | 2 | Not stated | Water resistant | 1 AA battery (not included) |
We read five listings. Three have power or charging contradictions worth knowing. Queenwill’s title says rechargeable while its bullets say it runs on one AA battery (not included). ONIYEA’s spec table says corded electric while its feature list says cordless and rechargeable, and it charges by USB cable. EILISON’s spec table says corded electric while its title says cordless. We followed the title and bullets in each case, per our convention of trusting those over the spec table.
Who should skip these
Skip the group if you want a device for the neck, back or an injured area: these are scalp and head devices, so keep them on the scalp as the maker directs. Skip Queenwill if you want a rechargeable device: it needs one AA battery, and the screwdriver in the box is for the battery cover. Skip ONIYEA for shower use, since its listing says it is not water resistant. And skip every pick here if a stated warranty matters to you: none of the five listings states a warranty term.
For more, see head massagers, massage ball vs massage gun, hand massagers and massage gun vs handheld massager.
Score notes
The Chill Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty, and reads out of 10 with one decimal. Performance here covers stated massage modes, nodes and technique; build covers materials and waterproofing; value covers what each listing states for this price tier. None of the five listings states a safety certification or a warranty term, so safety and warranty score zero across the board.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Melonsun Head Massager | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| AMIR Scalp Massager | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| EILISON Head Massager | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
| ONIYEA Scalp Massager | 9.3 | 24 | 18 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
| Queenwill Massager | 9.2 | 23 | 16 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Melonsun leads with the most complete listing: two claw sets, IPX7 waterproofing and the longest stated cordless runtime. AMIR follows with a week of stated use per charge and a 15-minute auto-off. Queenwill sits last: two modes and an AA battery requirement, with the rechargeable claim in its title contradicted by its own bullets.
Check Your Space First
- Room and storage: the AMIR is the largest at 4.92 by 4.92 by 4.45 inches; the Melonsun is the most compact at 3.5 by 3.5 by 2.6 inches. All five fit in a drawer.
- Power: the Queenwill needs one AA battery (not included); the ONIYEA, Melonsun and AMIR charge over USB; the EILISON listing contradicts itself on corded versus cordless power, so check the page before ordering.
- Water: the Melonsun (IPX7) and AMIR (IPX6) are listed for shower use; the EILISON is IPX-6 rated; the ONIYEA is not water resistant, so keep it dry.
- Weight: the five run from 4.16 ounces (Queenwill) to 10.23 ounces (ONIYEA), all handheld designs.
Common questions
Can I use an electric head massager in the shower?
It depends on the listing. Melonsun is IPX7 rated and AMIR is IPX6, both listed for wet and dry use, and EILISON is IPX-6 rated. ONIYEA’s listing says it is not water resistant, so use that one dry. Melonsun also says to close the charging-port cover securely before shower use.
How long does each charge last?
Melonsun states 2 to 3 hours of cordless use after a 2-hour USB-C charge. AMIR states up to a week on a full charge, though the listing does not define what a week of use means. ONIYEA states 10 minutes of use after about 2 hours of charging. Queenwill runs on one AA battery rather than a charge, and EILISON states no battery life.
What is the difference between vibration and kneading here?
Queenwill and ONIYEA use vibration; Melonsun, AMIR and EILISON use 360-degree rotating kneading heads, which the makers describe as a hand-like kneading feel. The technique is a comfort preference, not a performance claim we scored. All five are handheld scalp devices, not percussion tools.
What does the 15-minute auto-off do?
Melonsun and AMIR stop automatically after 15 minutes, which the listings say prevents overuse and saves energy. ONIYEA stops after 10 minutes of continuous work. The shut-off is a convenience feature, not a substitute for following the maker’s directions on use.
Will these tangle long hair?
Melonsun lists anti-tangle 360-degree kneading, and AMIR and EILISON say their soft silicone nodes prevent pulling and tangling. Queenwill and ONIYEA state no anti-tangle feature. These are the makers’ claims, reported as stated; we did not score hair-type fit.
Back to all recovery tools reviews.



