Side by side Choose the Shark CryoGlow if Choose the JOVS 4D if
Verdict. The Shark CryoGlow example suits readers who want named modes and under-eye cooling: four modes with stated session times, plus clip-on chill pads with 3 chill levels. The JOVS 4D example is the cordless 1064nm laser mask with stated eye protection, but its listing is thinner on numbers, so the Shark example scores higher. Both examples below are face-worn light therapy masks; no red light canopy listing was provided for this comparison, so this is a head-to-head between the two mask listings.
You are looking at your evening routine and wondering whether a light mask earns a place in it. The led therapy mask vs red light canopy question starts with the format: a wearable mask you put on for minutes, against a canopy you sit or lie under. With two mask listings in hand, this comparison weighs what each one actually states.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Red light masks shine bright light close to your eyes and skin; follow the maker’s eye protection and usage instructions, and ask a clinician first if you have a skin condition, are pregnant, or take medication that increases light sensitivity. See our Medical Disclaimer.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
Shark CryoGlow LED Face Mask, Red Light Therapy Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonAn LED face mask with red, blue and deep infrared light, four named modes with stated session times, and clip-on under-eye chill pads with 3 chill levels.
-
2
JOVS 4D Laser Light Therapy Mask, FPT 6x Power Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA cordless FPT laser light therapy mask naming 1064nm infrared, with 140 beams, 3 modes and stated built-in eye safety protection.
An LED face mask with red, blue and deep infrared light, four named modes with stated session times, and clip-on under-eye chill pads with 3 chill levels.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Four named modes with stated session times: 4, 6 and 8 min, plus 5 to 15 min under-eye
- Clip-on chill pads with 3 chill levels for the under-eye area
- Listing cites participant counts: 119 in a third-party study, 60 and 59 in 12-week studies
- Box includes mask, chill pads, remote, USB-C cable and plug, and a storage bag
Cons
- 1.49 lb listed weight, the heavier stated figure here
- No eye protection stated for the light itself
- No warranty term stated
- Regulatory clearance claimed without a clearance number on the listing
A cordless FPT laser light therapy mask naming 1064nm infrared, with 140 beams, 3 modes and stated built-in eye safety protection.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 1064nm long-wave infrared named, with 140 stated light beams
- Cordless and rechargeable with a flexible liquid silicone fit
- Built-in eye safety protection stated, no goggles needed
- 3 modes with a curved full-face coverage design
Cons
- Device weight not stated, only the 3.7 lb package
- Session times and battery figures not stated
- Title says 4 wavelengths but the listing names only 1064nm
- No warranty term stated
More to compare
Red Light Therapy Mask for Face & NeckCheck price on Amazon
Red Light Therapy Mask for Face and Neck with 468 LEDs 850nmCheck price on Amazon
Red Light Therapy Mask for Face and Neck with 396 LEDs 850nmCheck price on Amazon
Red Light Therapy Mask for FaceCheck price on Amazon
Led Red Light Therapy Mask for Face 7-1 ColorsCheck price on Amazon
Shark CryoGlow LED Face MaskCheck price on Amazon
led therapy mask vs red light canopy at a glance
| Shark CryoGlow FW312PK | JOVS 4D Laser Mask | |
|---|---|---|
| Light type | Red, blue and deep infrared LED | FPT laser; 1064nm named (title says 4 wavelengths) |
| Modes | 4 named modes | 3 modes |
| Session times | 4, 6 and 8 min; under-eye 5 to 15 min | Not stated |
| Under-eye feature | Clip-on chill pads, 3 chill levels | Not stated |
| Eye protection | Not stated | Built-in eye safety protection stated |
| Power | 7.2V; USB-C cable and plug in the box | Cordless and rechargeable (figures not stated) |
| Weight | 1.49 lb (675 g) | Not stated (package: 3.7 lb) |
| In the box | Mask, chill pads, remote, USB-C cable and plug, storage bag | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
Light types and modes
The Shark CryoGlow is an LED mask combining red, blue and deep infrared light, with four named modes: a 6-minute Better Aging mode using red and infrared, an 8-minute Skin Clearing mode using blue, infrared and red, a 4-minute Skin Sustain mode, and a 5 to 15-minute Under-Eye Revive mode. The listing cites studies behind its claims: 119 participants in a third-party study, a 12-week study of 60 subjects for the Better Aging mode, and a 12-week study of 59 subjects for the Skin Clearing mode. Those are the maker’s cited figures; we do not restate them as our own findings.
The JOVS 4D is a laser mask built around what the maker calls FPT, focused photothermal therapy: 140 beams of ultra-narrow 20-degree light, with a claimed 6 times energy efficiency against traditional LED masks. The listing names 1064nm long-wave infrared, though the title claims 4 wavelengths without enumerating the other three. It offers 3 modes against the Shark example’s 4, and gives no session times, so how long each mode runs is unconfirmed.
Fit, weight and wear
The Shark example lists 1.49 lb (675 g) and dimensions of 7.99 by 5.89 by 8.63 in, in a Rose Glow finish, with a remote in the box. The JOVS example describes a flexible curved design in liquid silicone that fits facial contours, and cordless use while reading, working or relaxing; no device weight or battery figures are stated, only the 11.77 by 10.91 by 5.16 in package at 3.7 lb. The Shark listing names skin types, acne prone, mature and all; the JOVS listing does not state skin types. If you wear glasses or want to move around mid-session, the stated figures favor checking the 1.49 lb number against your comfort before you buy.
Eye safety
This is where the two listings differ most on paper. The JOVS listing states built-in eye safety protection, with no goggles needed. The Shark listing states no eye protection for the light itself; its eye-area feature is the cooling pads, not shielding. Red light masks are bright by design, and eye protection is the standard precaution for this product type. Of the two listings, only the JOVS one makes a stated eye safety claim. See our mask vs helmet guide for more on the format question.
What is in the box
The Shark listing is explicit: the mask, clip-on chill pads, a remote, a USB-C charging cable and plug, and a storage bag. It also notes the model may be eligible for FSA and HSA benefits, subject to the buyer’s health plan, which is the maker’s note rather than a promise. The JOVS listing does not state box contents at all, so charger, cable and any extras are unconfirmed.
Two mask examples, scored
These are scored on the Chill Score across performance, build, value, safety certifications and warranty. Neither states a UL or ETL listing or a warranty term, so both lose points there.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shark CryoGlow | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| JOVS 4D Laser Mask | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Choose the Shark CryoGlow if
- You want named modes with stated session times, including an 8-minute clearing routine.
- Under-eye cooling matters to you: clip-on pads with 3 chill levels are the differentiator here.
- You value a complete spec sheet and cited participant counts over maker adjectives.
- A full box, mask, pads, remote, cable, plug and storage bag, matters more than the lightest wear.
Choose the JOVS 4D if
- You want a cordless mask you can wear while doing other things.
- Stated eye safety protection without goggles is a priority.
- The 1064nm laser approach interests you more than an LED array.
- You can live with the listing’s gaps: no stated weight, session times, box contents or warranty.
Check Your Space First
- Charging: the Shark example charges over USB-C with a plug in the box, so you need an outlet nearby; the JOVS example is cordless and rechargeable, but its charging figures are not stated.
- Wear weight: the Shark example lists 1.49 lb; the JOVS example states no device weight, so its comfort claim is unverified on paper.
- Storage: the Shark mask measures 7.99 by 5.89 by 8.63 in and comes with a storage bag; the JOVS package is 11.77 by 10.91 by 5.16 in.
- Room to use it: both are wearables, so no floor space is needed, just a chair and the minutes each session takes.
Common questions
Which example suits the under-eye area?
The Shark CryoGlow lists clip-on chill pads with 3 chill levels and a 5 to 15-minute Under-Eye Revive mode, the only stated under-eye feature between the two. The JOVS listing states no under-eye feature. Neither listing states eye protection for the Shark example, so treat the pads as a comfort feature, not shielding.
What does the JOVS 1064nm claim mean?
The listing names 1064nm long-wave infrared as its working wavelength and presents it as stimulating collagen, which is the maker’s claim. Its title also says 4 wavelengths, but the listing does not enumerate the other three, so that figure is unverified on paper.
How long is each session?
The Shark listing states 6 minutes for Better Aging, 8 minutes for Skin Clearing, 4 minutes for Skin Sustain, and 5 to 15 minutes for Under-Eye Revive. The JOVS listing states no session times for its 3 modes.
Do I need goggles?
The JOVS listing states built-in eye safety protection and says no goggles are needed. The Shark listing states no eye protection. We repeat the maker’s statements here; follow whichever product’s instructions you buy, and ask a clinician if you are unsure.
Does either listing document regulatory clearance?
The Shark listing uses the phrase FDA-cleared but gives no clearance number, and we only repeat regulatory claims the listing documents. The JOVS listing makes no regulatory claim at all. Treat both as maker statements, not verified clearances.
Which one scores higher, and why?
The Shark CryoGlow example scores higher on a complete spec sheet: stated modes, session times, weight, box contents and cited participant counts. The JOVS 4D example has the more interesting eye safety statement and the cordless design, but too many figures are missing to score it level.
Back to all red light therapy reviews.



