A red light therapy bulb screws into a lamp socket and shines red and near infrared light on a small area. Most are LED bulbs at 660nm and 850nm; a few are incandescent heat bulbs that give off near infrared along with a lot of heat. Neither is the same as a red sleep bulb, which is a dim colored light for the bedroom.
This roundup scores six bulbs sold on Amazon on what each listing states. For larger devices, see targeted red light devices and full body panels. Listings were collected 4 October 2026.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. None of these bulbs claims FDA clearance, and none is presented here as a treatment. If you are pregnant, have a light sensitive condition, or take medication that makes you sensitive to light, ask a doctor first. See our Medical Disclaimer.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
Hooga Red Light Therapy Bulb Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonAn LED bulb with 12 dual chip LEDs at 660nm and 850nm in equal ratio, irradiance figures in the listing, a base, a braided cord and a one year warranty.
-
2
Red Light Lamp - 24 LED, 660nm & 850nm Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonAn E26 bulb with 12 LEDs at 660nm and 12 at 850nm behind a 45 degree lens, stating irradiance at the surface and at 6 inches, with a 12 month warranty.
-
3
Red Light Therapy Bulb 660nm Red & 850nm Near Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA fan cooled LED bulb at 660nm and 850nm with a 30 degree lens, a stated 54 W and up to 242 mW/cm², with a power cord and a 12 month warranty.
-
4
wolezek Red Light Therapy Bulb Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA low priced E26 bulb with nine 660nm and nine 850nm LEDs behind a 60 degree lens in an aluminum housing.
-
5
RubyLux NIR-A Near Infrared Bulb Grade Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA 250 W incandescent near infrared heat bulb for 120 V, which the brand says produces 1,431 mW/cm² at 6 inches and lasts over two years.
-
6
LifePro Infraglow Red Light Therapy Bulb Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonAn 18 LED clip on bulb at 660nm and 850nm, rated 24 W, from a recovery device brand.
What we picked for home recovery
An LED bulb with 12 dual chip LEDs at 660nm and 850nm in equal ratio, irradiance figures in the listing, a base, a braided cord and a one year warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States irradiance figures, up to 120 mW/cm²
- 660nm and 850nm in equal ratio
- Comes with base and braided cord
Cons
- Irradiance distances not clear in the data
- Only 12 LEDs, a small area
- Wellness claims we discount
- No safety listing named
An E26 bulb with 12 LEDs at 660nm and 12 at 850nm behind a 45 degree lens, stating irradiance at the surface and at 6 inches, with a 12 month warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States irradiance at a distance, about 75 mW/cm² at 6 in
- 12 red and 12 near infrared LEDs
- 45 degree lens
- 12 month warranty and 30 day returns
Cons
- Unbranded, sold as Generic
- Wattage not stated
- No safety listing named
A fan cooled LED bulb at 660nm and 850nm with a 30 degree lens, a stated 54 W and up to 242 mW/cm², with a power cord and a 12 month warranty.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Stated 54 W, the most powerful LED bulb here
- Narrow 30 degree lens
- Quiet cooling fan, per the brand
- 12 month warranty, 4.6 average
Cons
- LED count differs within the listing
- 242 mW/cm² has no distance stated
- Rated 240 volts in the data
- No safety listing named
A low priced E26 bulb with nine 660nm and nine 850nm LEDs behind a 60 degree lens in an aluminum housing.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 9 red and 9 near infrared LEDs
- 60 degree lens, aluminum housing
- Among the lowest prices here
Cons
- No irradiance stated
- Voltage listed as 240 in the data
- Ratings shared with lamp kits
- No warranty stated
A 250 W incandescent near infrared heat bulb for 120 V, which the brand says produces 1,431 mW/cm² at 6 inches and lasts over two years.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States irradiance at a distance, 6 in
- No UV, mercury or Teflon, per the brand
- 120 V for US sockets
Cons
- Gets very hot, burn and fire risk
- Needs a fixture rated for 250 W
- Highest running cost here
- Health claims we discount
An 18 LED clip on bulb at 660nm and 850nm, rated 24 W, from a recovery device brand.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Clip on lamp included
- 18 LEDs, 660nm and 850nm
- 24 W stated
Cons
- Copy swaps which wavelength is infrared
- No irradiance stated
- Sleep, mood and organ claims we discount
- No warranty stated
More to compare
Neporal Red Light Bulbs for Sleep 9WCheck price on Amazon
Neporal Red Light Bulbs for Sleep AidCheck price on Amazon
LifePro Infraglow Red Light Therapy BulbCheck price on Amazon
ReviveCheck price on Amazon
What each listing states
| Bulb | Type | Wavelengths | Irradiance stated | Power | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| hooga HG24 | LED | 660, 850nm | 120 and 85 mW/cm² | Not stated | 1 year |
| Generic 24 LED Lamp | LED | 660, 850nm | About 75 mW/cm² at 6 in | Not stated | 12 months |
| Zarbaha P2 | LED, fan | 660, 850nm | Up to 242 mW/cm² | 54 W | 12 months |
| wolezek 18 LED | LED | 660, 850nm | Not stated | 36 W | Not stated |
| RubyLux NIR-A 250W | Incandescent | Near infrared | 1,431 mW/cm² at 6 in | 250 W | Not stated |
| LifePro Infraglow | LED | 660, 850nm | Not stated | 24 W | Not stated |
An irradiance figure means little without a distance, because light falls off quickly as you move away. Only two listings here give one. See red light irradiance explained.
We read 20 listings. Eighteen state a wavelength and 5 an irradiance, 8 state a warranty, and none names an electrical safety listing or claims FDA clearance. Eight were red sleep bulbs at 625 to 670nm and 1 to 9 W. Those are bedroom lights, not therapy devices, and we left them out.
What it costs to run
Four bulbs state their power. At full rated power, using 18.34 cents per kWh, the US residential average for June 2026 from the Energy Information Administration:
| Product | Rated power | Per one hour | Per month, 4 sessions a week |
|---|---|---|---|
| RubyLux NIR-A 250W | 250 W | 5 cents | $0.79 |
| Zarbaha P2 | 54 W | 1 cents | $0.17 |
| wolezek 18 LED | 36 W | 1 cents | $0.11 |
| LifePro Infraglow | 24 W | 0 cents | $0.08 |
LED bulbs cost pennies a month. The 250 W heat bulb costs more, though still little at short sessions.
Using a bulb safely
- Protect your eyes. Near infrared is invisible, so a bulb can look dim while putting out a lot of light. Use goggles; see red light therapy goggles.
- Check the socket and fixture are rated for the bulb’s wattage, especially the 250 W heat bulb, which needs a heat rated fixture.
- Check the voltage. Two LED bulbs here list 240 volts in their data; US sockets are 120 volts.
- Keep heat bulbs away from skin, fabric and anything flammable, and do not leave them on unattended.
Score notes
The Chill Score weighs performance 35, build 25, value 25, safety certifications 10 where it applies and warranty 5. Here, performance covers stated wavelengths, irradiance with a distance, LED count and power. No listing names an electrical safety listing, so all score zero there.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| hooga HG24 | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| Generic 24 LED Lamp | 9.5 | 29 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| Zarbaha P2 | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| wolezek 18 LED | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
| RubyLux NIR-A 250W | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| LifePro Infraglow | 9.4 | 26 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
hooga and the unbranded 24 LED bulb lead on stated irradiance and warranties. Zarbaha is the most powerful LED bulb. RubyLux is a different tool, a heat bulb, and needs extra care.
Who should not buy one
If you want to cover your whole body, a single bulb is too small; see full body panels or mats. If you want a calm red light for sleep, buy a sleep bulb, not a therapy bulb. And if you cannot use eye protection, skip bright bulbs.
Common questions
Is a red sleep bulb the same as a therapy bulb?
No. Sleep bulbs are dim, 1 to 9 W, and meant for room lighting. Therapy bulbs are much brighter and use 660nm and 850nm LEDs or a heat filament.
LED or incandescent?
LED bulbs run cooler and use far less power. Incandescent near infrared bulbs add a lot of heat, which is why they are used in DIY saunas, but they need heat rated fixtures.
How far should I sit from the bulb?
Follow the maker’s distance. Light falls off fast with distance, so moving closer raises the dose sharply.
Back to all red light therapy reviews.



