An outdoor sauna under $5,000 is either an infrared cabin with a roof or a traditional barrel with a stove. Both arrive by freight, both need a solid level base, and both need power run out to the yard. That last part is where listings say least and where most of the real cost hides.
This roundup covers six outdoor saunas under $5,000, ranked on what each listing states, with running costs and the circuit each one needs. Our main outdoor sauna roundup covers the models we reviewed earlier.
This article is informational and is not medical advice. Do not use a sauna after alcohol, when pregnant, or with a heart condition or low blood pressure without asking a clinician first. See our Medical Disclaimer.
On safety listings: two of the traditional barrels here state a UL or ETL certified heater, and we give them partial safety credit for it. None of the infrared cabins states a listing for the whole unit. As in our other sauna roundups, we include them, score safety at zero, and say so. Any outdoor sauna should be wired by a licensed electrician on a GFCI protected circuit.
Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
-
1
HOSAUNA Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 4 to 6 Person Chill Score 9.5/10Check price on AmazonA traditional barrel for four to six with the most powerful heater here, and one of only two listings to state a certified heater.
-
2
Albott 4 Person Outdoor Infrared Sauna Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA four person outdoor infrared cabin with a proper shingle roof that states its full electrical requirement.
-
3
Royal Saunas 4 Person Vertical Outdoor Barrel Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA vertical cedar barrel with an ETL certified Harvia heater.
-
4
Kanlanth 2 Person Outdoor Far Infrared Sauna Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonThe cheapest two person outdoor infrared cabin, whose stated circuit is cutting it fine.
-
5
OUTEXER 2 Person Outdoor Far Infrared Sauna Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonA cedar clad two person outdoor cabin on 120V, with no warranty term.
-
6
LTCCDSS 2 Person Full Spectrum Outdoor Infrared Chill Score 9.4/10Check price on AmazonThe cheapest outdoor cabin here with a decent record, but its listing states no wattage or voltage.
What we picked for home recovery
A traditional barrel for four to six with the most powerful heater here, and one of only two listings to state a certified heater.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States a UL certified 9kW stove, one of two certified heaters in this roundup
- Seats four to six
- Thermally treated Finnish spruce, which the brand says resists rot and weather
- Traditional sauna, so it can be used with water on the stones
Cons
- Does not state the voltage or circuit for a 9kW heater, which will need a 240V supply
- At the top of this budget
- No warranty term published
A four person outdoor infrared cabin with a proper shingle roof that states its full electrical requirement.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States its electrical requirement in full: 2850W, 240V, 20A
- Asphalt shingle roof with ridge caps and a waterproof layer
- Finnish spruce, up to 149 degrees F
- Seats four
Cons
- Needs a 240V 20A circuit run to the backyard
- 512 lb, freight delivery and a level base needed
- No warranty term published
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
A vertical cedar barrel with an ETL certified Harvia heater.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- States an ETL certified 6kW Harvia heater
- Cedar construction
- Vertical barrel, so a smaller footprint for four
- Traditional sauna
Cons
- 957 lb, needs a solid level base and freight delivery
- Does not state the voltage or circuit
- No warranty term published
The cheapest two person outdoor infrared cabin, whose stated circuit is cutting it fine.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 1850W on 120V, so no 240V run needed
- Norway spruce, rated for outdoor temperatures from minus 10 degrees F
- Top setting of 158 degrees F, per the listing
- Typically one of the lower prices here
Cons
- States 15 amps, but 1850W at 120V is about 15.4 amps, more than a 15 amp circuit should carry continuously
- No warranty term published
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
A cedar clad two person outdoor cabin on 120V, with no warranty term.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- 1800W on 120V
- Red cedar outer layer over okoume
- Adjustable from 68 to 140 degrees F
Cons
- 1800W at 120V is 15 amps, so it needs a dedicated 20 amp circuit
- No warranty term published
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
The cheapest outdoor cabin here with a decent record, but its listing states no wattage or voltage.
Pros & ConsViewHide
Pros
- Typically the lowest price in this roundup
- Canadian fir with a sloped roof
- Full spectrum heaters, per the listing
Cons
- No wattage, voltage or circuit stated
- No warranty term published
- Fir is softer than cedar or spruce
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
More to compare
OUTEXER Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-5 Person 240V 4.5KW 6'x6’Check price on Amazon
OUTEXER Outdoor Sauna Far Infrared 1550W for One PersonCheck price on Amazon
OUTEXER Outdoor Sauna 2 Person Sauna Infrared Saunas with RedCheck price on Amazon
OUTEXER Outdoor 4 Person Sauna Far Infrared Saunas 2600W 240VCheck price on Amazon
What each one needs from your panel
| Sauna | Rated power | What the listing says | What to plan for |
|---|---|---|---|
| HOSAUNA barrel | 9 kW | Not stated | 240V, about 37.5A, dedicated circuit |
| Royal Saunas barrel | 6 kW | Not stated | 240V, about 25A, dedicated circuit |
| Albott 4 person | 2,850 W | 240V, 20A | 240V 20A dedicated circuit |
| Kanlanth 2 person | 1,850 W | 120V, 15A | 120V 20A dedicated circuit |
| OUTEXER 2 person | 1,800 W | 120V | 120V 20A dedicated circuit |
| LTCCDSS 2 person | Not stated | Not stated | Ask the seller |
The amperage figures for the barrels are wattage divided by 240V. A continuous load should use no more than 80 percent of a circuit, which is why we suggest 20 amp circuits for the 120V cabins. The run from your panel to the yard can cost as much as a small cabin. Get an electrician’s quote before you order. Our sauna electrical guide explains the details.
What each one costs to run
Calculated from rated wattage over one hour, at 18.34 cents per kWh, the US residential average for June 2026 from the Energy Information Administration. Traditional stoves run at full power while heating and then cycle, so their real cost per session is lower than the full power figure.
| Product | Rated power | Per one hour session | Per month, 4 sessions a week |
|---|---|---|---|
| HOSAUNA barrel, at full power | 9,000 W | 165 cents | $28.61 |
| Royal Saunas barrel, at full power | 6,000 W | 110 cents | $19.07 |
| Albott 4 person | 2,850 W | 52 cents | $9.06 |
| Kanlanth 2 person | 1,850 W | 34 cents | $5.88 |
| OUTEXER 2 person | 1,800 W | 33 cents | $5.72 |
See our running cost guide to use your own electricity rate.
Score notes
The Chill Score weighs performance 35, build 25, value 25, safety certifications 10 where it applies and warranty 5.
| Product | Chill Score | Perf. | Build | Value | Safety | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HOSAUNA barrel, 9kW | 49 | 20 | 12 | 9 | 8 | 0 |
| Albott 4 person | 44 | 20 | 12 | 12 | 0 | 0 |
| Royal Saunas barrel, 6kW | 43 | 18 | 7 | 10 | 8 | 0 |
| Kanlanth 2 person | 42 | 16 | 12 | 14 | 0 | 0 |
| OUTEXER 2 person | 40 | 16 | 13 | 11 | 0 | 0 |
| LTCCDSS 2 person | 36 | 10 | 12 | 14 | 0 | 0 |
No listing here states a warranty term, which is unusual even for this category and costs every pick five points. The HOSAUNA and Royal Saunas barrels earn partial safety credit for certified heaters. The Albott leads the infrared cabins because it states its electrical requirement in full and has a proper shingle roof.
Who should not buy one
Speak to a clinician first if you are pregnant, have a heart condition, low blood pressure, or take medication that affects heat tolerance. Never use a sauna after alcohol, and never alone if you are unwell.
If you cannot run a dedicated circuit to your yard, or cannot provide a level concrete or paver base, an outdoor sauna is the wrong purchase. An indoor cabin from our under $1,000 or under $3,000 roundups is far simpler to install.
Common questions
Barrel or cabin?
Barrels here are traditional saunas with a stove and stones, hotter and able to take water for steam, but they need a 240V supply. Infrared cabins run cooler and some run on 120V. Our infrared vs traditional guide covers the difference.
Do I need a permit?
Often, for both the structure and the electrical work. Check with your local building department before you order.
Wattage, voltage and temperature figures are manufacturer rated. Current draw is wattage divided by voltage. Electricity rate: US Energy Information Administration, average residential price, June 2026, 18.34 cents per kWh.



