Under $100 is where massage gun spec sheets get thinnest. Of the six devices below, only one publishes an amplitude figure, none publishes a defined warranty, and none states a UL, ETL or CSA electrical listing.

That does not make them bad purchases. It means the usual way of comparing massage guns, reading the numbers on the box, mostly does not work at this price. This roundup ranks them on what each listing does commit to in writing, and tells you plainly where it does not.

This article is informational and is not medical advice. Percussion devices must not be used on certain areas of the body. Please read our Medical Disclaimer and our guide to where not to use a massage gun before you start.

Chillveda earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  1. 1
    RENPHO Active+ Massage Gun, App-Controlled Chill Score 9.5/10

    The only pick in this roundup whose listing publishes both an amplitude and a stall force figure, which is why it leads on performance despite a short market record.

    Check price on Amazon
  2. 2
    BOB AND BRAD Q2 Mini Massage Gun Chill Score 9.5/10

    A pocket sized unit with the only time bound support commitment, though its listing does not state an amplitude.

    Check price on Amazon
  3. 3
    Massage Gun with Heat Massager Deep Tissue Muscle Chill Score 9.4/10

    A heated head with its own temperature settings at a budget price, but no published amplitude or stall force.

    Check price on Amazon
  4. 4
    LifePro Sonic Massage Gun Chill Score 9.4/10

    The longest market record in this roundup and the longest claimed runtime, but its listing publishes no amplitude or stall force at all.

    Check price on Amazon
  5. 5
    RENPHO Mini Thermal Massage Gun with Heat Chill Score 9.4/10

    The lightest device here with a heated head, aimed at desk and travel use rather than deep work.

    Check price on Amazon
  6. 6
    OLsky Massage Gun Deep Tissue, 30 Speeds Chill Score 9.4/10

    The cheapest pick, with a battery quirk the listing itself warns about.

    Check price on Amazon

What we picked for home recovery

RENPHO Active+ Massage Gun, App-Controlled, Deep Tissue Percussion Massager, 5 Speeds, 5 Heads, Carry Case

RENPHO Active+ Massage Gun, App-Controlled

RENPHO 9.5/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

The only pick in this roundup whose listing publishes both an amplitude and a stall force figure, which is why it leads on performance despite a short market record.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • Publishes a 10mm amplitude and 45 lb stall force, both manufacturer rated, the most complete performance disclosure here
  • USB-C charging at a stated 18 watts, with a manufacturer rated 1.5 hour full charge
  • 1.5 lb, light enough to reach your own shoulders without strain
  • Carry case and five heads included

Cons

  • No warranty term and no UL, ETL or CSA listing on the retailer listing
  • Listed since April 2025
  • Top speed is 2800 RPM by the brand's own figure, lower than most rivals advertise
  • The app and video classes add nothing to the hardware if you already know where to use it
BOB AND BRAD Q2 Mini Massage Gun, Pocket Size Deep Tissue Percussion Massager, USB-C, FSA HSA Eligible

BOB AND BRAD Q2 Mini Massage Gun

BOB AND BRAD 9.5/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A pocket sized unit with the only time bound support commitment, though its listing does not state an amplitude.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • 0.95 lb, small enough for a gym bag or carry on
  • USB-C charging from a standard 5V 2A adapter, plus a manufacturer rated noise level under 45 dB
  • Listing states a 2 year customer care promise, and the brand describes it as FSA and HSA eligible

Cons

  • No amplitude figure on the listing, so depth cannot be compared
  • 35 lb manufacturer rated stall force, the lowest published figure here
  • No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
Massage Gun with Heat Massager Deep Tissue Muscle Massager Gifts for Men

Massage Gun with Heat Massager Deep Tissue Muscle

AERLANG 9.4/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

A heated head with its own temperature settings at a budget price, but no published amplitude or stall force.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • Heated head with three temperature settings up to a manufacturer rated 131 degrees F
  • 20 speed settings across a manufacturer rated 1400 to 3200 RPM
  • Display shows the pressure you are applying, plus a carrying case

Cons

  • No amplitude or stall force published
  • About 2.2 lb, at the heavy end of this group
  • The heated head charges separately, and the listing asks for a 6 hour first charge plus 2 hours for the head
  • No warranty term and no UL, ETL or CSA listing published, on a device that heats
LifePro Sonic Massage Gun, Percussion Muscle Massager, 8 Heads, 6 Speeds, Travel Case

LifePro Sonic Massage Gun

LifePro 9.4/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

The longest market record in this roundup and the longest claimed runtime, but its listing publishes no amplitude or stall force at all.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • On the market since April 2019
  • Manufacturer rated runtime of up to 6 hours, the longest claim of the six
  • Eight heads and a travel case included

Cons

  • No amplitude, stall force or noise figure published
  • 2.2 lb, at the heavy end of this group
  • The warranty field reads Lifetime Customer Support, which is a support promise rather than a stated warranty
  • No UL, ETL or CSA listing published
RENPHO Mini Thermal Massage Gun with Heat, Portable Pocket Size Percussion Massager, 4 Heads, USB-C

RENPHO Mini Thermal Massage Gun with Heat

RENPHO 9.4/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

The lightest device here with a heated head, aimed at desk and travel use rather than deep work.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • 0.8 lb, the lightest of the six
  • Heated head with a manufacturer rated temperature of 114 degrees F
  • USB-C charging and a 10 minute auto shut off
  • Interchangeable silicone head casings

Cons

  • No amplitude or stall force published
  • No warranty term and no UL, ETL or CSA listing published, on a device that heats
OLsky Massage Gun Deep Tissue, 30 Speeds, 9 Attachments, Handheld Percussion Massager

OLsky Massage Gun Deep Tissue, 30 Speeds

OLsky 9.4/10 Chill Score
The Chill Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we review

The cheapest pick, with a battery quirk the listing itself warns about.

Pros & ConsViewHide

Pros

  • Typically the lowest priced device in this roundup
  • Nine attachments and a display for speed and battery
  • Listed since August 2022

Cons

  • No amplitude, stall force, runtime or noise figure published
  • The listing warns that pressing too hard triggers battery protection, shutting the unit off until it is plugged in
  • No warranty term and no UL, ETL or CSA listing published

What each listing actually publishes

Before the scores, here is the evidence they rest on. Each row is one device, and each column is a figure a buyer would reasonably want before spending money. A dash means the retailer listing does not state it.

Device Amplitude Stall force Runtime Noise Weight Warranty Safety listing
RENPHO Active+ 10mm 45 lb 3 hr – 1.5 lb – –
Bob and Brad Q2 Mini – 35 lb – Under 45 dB 0.95 lb 2 year care promise –
AERLANG EM13 – – – – About 2.2 lb – –
LifePro Sonic – – 6 hr – 2.2 lb Lifetime support –
RENPHO Mini Thermal – – About 3 hr – 0.8 lb – –
OLsky M68-7 – – – – 2 lb – –

Every figure in the table is manufacturer rated. Stall force in particular has no common measurement method, so two brands can publish the same number from entirely different procedures. We use it as a tie breaker at most. Our guide to amplitude and stall force explains why amplitude is the number you feel.

Two entries in the warranty column need a caveat. The Bob and Brad listing promises 2 years of customer care, and the LifePro listing states lifetime customer support. Neither says what is covered, whether a faulty unit is repaired or replaced, or who pays return shipping. We give both partial credit and explain the scoring on each product.

Score notes

The Chill Score weighs performance 35, build 25, value 25, safety certifications 10 where it applies and warranty 5. Where a listing publishes nothing for a criterion, that criterion scores zero, because a buyer cannot compare what is not stated.

Device Chill Score Perf. Build Value Safety Warranty
RENPHO Active+ 50 21 14 15 0 0
Bob and Brad Q2 Mini 49 16 15 13 0 5
AERLANG EM13 42 14 12 16 0 0
LifePro Sonic 41 13 13 13 0 2
RENPHO Mini Thermal 38 13 12 13 0 0
OLsky M68-7 37 12 10 15 0 0

No device here states a UL, ETL or CSA listing on its retailer listing, so every one loses the full ten safety points. Some of these brands may well hold certifications. Our rule is that we score what is published, not what we assume.

Performance separates them most. The RENPHO Active+ leads because it is the only one that publishes an amplitude. The Bob and Brad Q2 Mini publishes a stall force and a noise figure but no amplitude. The other four give speed counts and attachment counts, which are not performance figures.

Two you might expect to see here

The TOLOCO EM26 and the Mebak 3 appear on almost every list of massage guns under $100. Both are in our main massage gun roundup, with full scores, so we have not repeated them here.

The Mebak 3 is worth a look if deep work is the reason you are buying. Its listing publishes a 12mm amplitude, which is more travel than anything on this page, and it usually sits at the top edge of this budget.

Charging costs less than a dollar a year

Running cost is the first thing we calculate on any device that plugs in. For massage guns it is small enough to rule out as a factor, and it is worth knowing why.

Two listings give enough to calculate an upper bound. The RENPHO Active+ charges at a stated 18 watts for a stated 1.5 hours, at most 27 watt hours per full charge. The Bob and Brad Q2 Mini uses a 5V 2A adapter, 10 watts, for a stated 3.5 hours, at most 35 watt hours. A charger draws less than its rating as the battery fills, so the real figures are lower.

Charging fully twice a week, that is at most 2.8 kWh a year for the Active+ and 3.6 kWh for the Q2 Mini. At 18.34 cents per kWh, the US residential average for June 2026 published by the Energy Information Administration, that comes to about 51 cents and 67 cents a year. The method is the same one we use for saunas in our guide to home sauna running cost.

The cost that matters is the battery’s life. None of the six listings states a charge cycle rating or offers a replacement battery, and none states a defined warranty. On a sealed battery device, the battery’s lifespan is the device’s lifespan.

Heated heads

Two picks add heat. The AERLANG EM13 heats its head to a manufacturer rated 131 degrees F with three settings. The RENPHO Mini Thermal is rated at 114 degrees F.

Heat is a comfort feature. Whether it does more for your muscles than percussion alone is a claim the brands make and not one we can confirm. Buy it because you want warmth, not as a recovery upgrade.

Heat also adds a risk that percussion alone does not. Keep the heated head moving, and do not use it where you have reduced sensation, because you may not notice it getting too hot. Both heated devices publish no electrical safety listing.

Who should not buy one

Speak to a clinician first if you take an anticoagulant, have a clotting disorder, have osteoporosis, have neuropathy or any area of reduced sensation, or are pregnant. Our safety guide sets out the areas these devices must never be used on.

If you want deep work on large muscle groups such as the thighs and glutes, none of these publishes the 12mm amplitude that kind of work usually calls for. Look at the higher amplitude options in our main roundup instead.

If you mostly want general stiffness relief, a foam roller does a related job for less money and has fewer cautions.

If a written warranty matters to you, nothing in this price range offers one on its listing. That is a reason to buy from a retailer with a generous return window, and to check the return policy before you order.

Common questions

Is a massage gun under $100 worth it?

For general use, often yes. What you give up is published performance data and a defined warranty, not necessarily performance itself.

Why do so few listings publish amplitude?

We cannot say for certain. What we can say is that amplitude is the figure that best predicts how deep a device reaches, and a listing that leaves it out gives you no way to compare depth.

Mini or full size?

Mini units like the Q2 Mini and Mini Thermal are easier to use on yourself and to carry. Full size units generally run a longer stroke. Choose the size you will actually use.

How long should I use it on one muscle?

A minute or two, keeping the head moving. There is no benefit to holding it on one spot, and that is how people cause bruising.

Amplitude, stall force, noise, runtime, charging, temperature and weight figures are manufacturer rated. Electricity rate: US Energy Information Administration, average residential price, June 2026.

Related gift guides: see our recovery gifts for athletes and recovery gifts under $50. Also see our best deep tissue massage gun. Also see our best low cost massage gun. Also see our best handheld deep tissue massage gun. Also see our massage gun vs muscle roller. Also see our massage gun vs handheld massager. Also see our best handheld percussion massagers. Also see our how to use a massage gun. Also see our how to clean a massage gun. Also see our massage gun attachments explained. Also see our how to choose a massage gun. Also see our best percussion massagers with heat and cold. Also see our theragun vs hypervolt. Also see our mini massage gun vs full size. Also see our best heat cold massage gun. Also see our massage gun gift set. Also see our massage gun with red light. Also see our percussion massage gun for neck. Also see our percussion massage gun for trigger points. Also see our use of percussion massage for athletes. Also see our best massage gun for beginners. Also see our best mini massage gun for travel. Also see our best deep tissue massage gun under 50. Also see our best mini massage gun under 40. Also see our best trigger point massage gun under 80. Also see our brushless motor vs brushed motor massage gun. Also see our high amplitude vs high stall force massage gun. Also see our triangular handle vs straight handle massage gun. Also see our best mini massage gun for cyclists. Also see our metal head massage gun vs foam attachment. Also see our heated massage gun vs cold massage gun. Also see our smart bluetooth massage gun vs standard massager. Also see our massage ball vs massage gun. Also see our cordless vs corded massage gun. Also see our cordless vs wired back massager. Also see our 12mm vs 16mm massage gun. Also see our best gifts for massage lovers. Also see our theragun mini vs hypervolt go. Also see our bob and brad c2 plus vs c2 ultra. Also see our hypervolt go vs renpho active. Also see our theragun mini vs renpho active. Also see our mini massage gun vs massage stick. Also see our 8mm vs 12mm massage gun. Also see our renpho active+ vs renpho foldable massage gun. Also see our best handheld percussion massagers under 60. Also see our neck massager vibrating handheld. Also see our theragun mini vs theragun elite. Also see our theragun mini vs theragun relief. Also see our theragun relief vs hypervolt go. Also see our theragun sense vs theragun mini.